Pollo Fundido… win!

Standard

I’ve said it before, I love Mexican food.  When i saw this pin, it was very much up our alley.  It has become one of those meals that we repeat a lot.  As long as you remember to buy the queso at the store, most people have the rest on hand.  Its Mexican Queso and Chicken, how can you go wrong?  Serve with a can of beans or Mexican rice side dish, and you have a yummy dinner. With a name like Pollo Fundido, it has to be fun!

Here is the original pin link:

http://theneaglesnest.blogspot.com/2010/07/pollo-fundido.html

And the recipe:

Ingredients:

Chicken Breast (cut in half lengthwise to make them thin)
Onion
Mexican Dipping Cheese (I use the jalapeno flavor)
6 to 8 ounces milk (just add enough to get to the consistency you prefer.)
Chili Salt (1/4 cup sea salt, 1/4 cup pure chili powder, 1/4 teaspoon cayenne, pinch ground oregano. Mix together and store in an airtight container. This makes 1/2 cup of chili salt.)

I just sprinkle the “chili salt” on the chicken to season.  I didn’t pre-mix.  I added garlic as well, because well, we garlic everything and I thought it asked for it.    For the Mexican dipping cheese.  Read CAREFULLY.  I buy a little tub at my local Walmart or grocery store that says queso.  Usually I get the variety with chiles or jalapenos.  Don’t buy Mexican melting cheese (that was a huge fail) or just the Chihuahua cheese.  They dont melt the same, and you will get a clumpy rubbery mess.  If you buy the wheel of Mexican dipping cheese, it will not be as runny as with the queso dip.  I have a harder time finding the wheel of cheese.

In the recipe, it asks you to saute the onions first, and the first few times, I followed the rules and did just that.  Then cook your chicken, add the onions and the cheese.  I have modified it slightly for ease and time.

I put the chicken into the pan, season and cook.  I then, cube the chicken, and add back to pan.  I then add onions.  I added green onions last time because I needed to get rid of them.  If you liked green peppers, I am sure those would be tasty too.  I let the onions cook for a while with the chicken.  Add cheese. Cook until bubbly again.  I serve on tortillas and eat in a burrito.  You could keep the chicken whole and eat with a fork and knife too.  Here was my dinner tonight:

image (11)

 

There are a ton of pictures along the way in the link above, be sure to check that out too for other hints.

 

Leave a comment